School Governors

The Governing Body at Eccleston Primary School is an incredibly effective and hard working group that play a vital role in school development. Governors are involved in decisions about all aspects of managing the school, such as: curriculum, premises, budgets, staffing and setting standards.

Governors also help to make decisions about the school’s long-term goals. They support the Head Teacher, but also ask questions and make sure the Head Teacher is taking the school in the right direction.

The full Governing Body meets three times a year. A committee for teaching and learning looks at aspects such as: attainment, progress, targets, subject leadership and school improvement. A committee for staffing and finance looks at aspects such as: budget monitoring, buildings, health and safety and staff. Smaller groups meet more regularly to discuss specific issues.

Each Governor brings a wealth of skills and expertise, such as; finance, health and safety, management and educational awareness. All governors are linked with a subject/focus area and is in contact with the school subject leader, creating a good awareness of current themes and initiatives. Additionally, each governor is linked with a class and follows that class on their journey through school. Governors are welcomed into classes and are actively involved in school life.

As Chair of Governors, I am incredibly proud to represent Eccleston Primary School. As the heart of Eccleston village, we value the community in which we serve and offer a warm welcome to both current and prospective parents and children.

Roy Moore

Chair of Governors


Governors 2017/2018



Roy Moore
T&L/Finance & Premises
Dave Brennand
T&L/Finance & Premises
Safeguarding & Maths
Robert Housden
T&L/Finance & Premises
Science & Computing
Caroline Parr
T&L/Finance & Premises
Lucy Maxwell
Online Safety
Helen Winter
Jo McNulty
SEN & Pupil Premium
Alan Whittaker
Finance & Premises
Governor Training Link
Ian Bradley
Finance & Premises







Staff Governors

Kelvin Wilkins
Head Teacher
Kate Cranage
Deputy Head Teacher
Stephanie Phillips
Kayleigh Thomas






Copy of Govs Attendance Matrix 16-17